Employment & Assistance Appeal Tribunal of BC

Who We Are

The Tribunal office is located in Victoria, BC; it consists of a Tribunal Chair and Vice Chair, staff and members located throughout the province. The Tribunal is independent from the ministry. The Tribunal Chair reports to the Minister, Social Development and Poverty Reduction

Emily C. Drown

Chair, Employment and Assistance Appeal Tribunal

Emily Drown obtained her Bachelor of Arts from Malaspina University-College (now Vancouver Island University) in 2000 and her Bachelor of Laws from the University of Victoria in 2004. Emily was called to the Bar of British Columbia in 2005. Prior to being appointed as Chair of the Employment and Assistance Appeal Tribunal, Emily served as Vice-Chair and Chair of the Safety Standards Appeal Board and maintained a professional law practice with a focus on civil litigation and family law. Emily is a director of the Council of Canadian Administrative Tribunals and past-President of the British Columbia Council of Administrative Tribunals. Emily is passionate about access to justice issues and when not in the office enjoys exploring the natural wonder of Vancouver Island. 

Jane Nielsen

Vice Chair

Jane Nielsen is a panel member and acting Tribunal Chair with the Employment and Assistance Appeal Tribunal. Previously, she was a contractor with the Ministry of Labour and Citizens' Services, Corporate Accounting Services. In the community, she is a Director of the Oak Bay Heritage Foundation and as a former volunteer at the Ronald McDonald House and Success By 6. Ms. Nielsen holds her Bachelor of Arts and her Bachelor of Laws from the University of British Columbia.


For a complete list of members click here.

Member Remuneration

Section 8.5.3 of Treasury Board Directive 1/20 requires actual remuneration and reimbursement information is publicly available on the Tribunal website. Click here for the Tribunal Appointee Remuneration for 2020.